Set my path, set my pace, and set me free.

17…the number

17 facts about the number 17.

  • The shortest form of Japanese poetry (known as Haiku) contains exactly 17 syllables.
  • It takes 17 muscles to produce a smile.
  • “17” was the original title of the Beatle’s song “I Saw Her Standing There.”
  •  There are 17 different ways that a wallpaper design can repeat.
  •  Stegosaurus had 17 bony plates on its back.
  • Former President Bill Clinton’s dog Buddy was killed by a vehicle driven by a 17-year-old girl.
  • It would take over 17 Earths to equal the mass of Neptune.
  •  St. Patrick, the patron saint of Ireland, is believed to have died on March 17.
  • A cow’s saliva increases by 17% while grazing.
  • At 17 weeks pregnant, if you were to hold your baby, she would fit snugly in the palm of your hand.
  •  To call the police in France, you dial 17.
  • A wild goose will accept as its parent whatever creature it sees within its first 17 hours of life.
  • The Smashing Pumpkins realeased a song called 17 that is 17 seconds long with no vocals. It comes with a poem and if you read this at a standard speed, you will finish at the end of the song.
  • The world’s largest pie was 17 feet in diameter.
  • There are 17 species of penguins, and among penguins, the divorce rate is 17%.
  • The average giraffe’s tounge is 17 inches long.
  • My Father went to be with Jesus 17 years ago today.

I miss him.

Of course.

I still wonder what it would be like to have him here today.

I think of friends who have experienced the loss of their own Fathers this year.

I bow my head in shame as I think of how disappointed he’d be in some of my decision this past year.

I imagine coming home to my Dad, climbing up on his lap, and resting my head on his chest.

I think of one of my favorite conversations from one of my favorite TV shows.

Cristina: “There’s a club. The Dead Dads Club. And you can’t be in it until you’re in it. You can try to understand, you can sympathize. But until you feel that loss…My dad died when I was nine. George, I’m really sorry you had to join the club.”

George: “I…I don’t know how to exist in a world where my Dad doesn’t.”

Cristina: “Yeah, that never really changes.” 

 

I’ve realized I’m still not fully sure myself, how to exist in a world where my Dad doesn’t…but I continue to exist…

And I wonder…I really do…how in the world someone came to the conclusion that penguins have a 17% divorce rate?!?!

Leave a comment